Digital Differences

Digital Differences” caused by various factors shapes how individual
interact on web uniquely. (Kathryn Z. & Aaron S.)

factors-causing-4.png
Created using: http://www.canva.com

With some of my family members staying overseas, I will need internet access to stay connected with them. With the ease of having a broadband at home, I can communicate with them from home at anytime and get up to date informations about them through social media.

Being a student in University of Southampton, its membership allows me to access paid articles with my school account. With this privilege, I am able to access more insights online even up till now. A better way of sourcing information online was also taught like using Google Scholar in retrieving case studies. Usage of internet does increase as we progress in pursuing higher education.

EB625D6A3ABC4C058721546510628813Taken from: Pew Research Center

According to The Straits Times, Singaporean are found to be on the gadgets for more than 12 hours daily. (YangChen L. & Ronald T.) Living in Singapore where access to wifi are so convenient and readily available (Marie L.), I can just tap on the free wifi and go online easily. Take a look at another statistic I found!

dil-info-011Graphics taken: Digital Influence Lab

Also, living in the digital era moves classroom learning to a whole new level. Classes can also be conducted online and students can just view it at anytime and anywhere with internet access. Like what I am currently doing with #MANG2049.

In fact, with Singapore moving towards being tech-savvy, MOE has announced to incorporate online learnings even at the start of primary schools. (Calvin Y.)

“Students, as digital natives, are more involved when technology is used in teaching, say educators”

With the incorporating of technology into teaching and learning, I believe as a digital native, I will learn better as I progress.

Cheers,
Shilin

(302 words)

Leave a comment